Farrago Zoo Awards: Nominated for Best UK Poet Performance!


Here’s a very wonderful surprise: I’ve been nominated for the Best Performance by a UK Poet in the 2010 Farrago Zoo Awards. I’m tremendously flattered, and only sad that this time I’m not going to be able to make it down for the night. I was at last year’s Zoo Awards ceremony and saw some of the best UK performance poets; I reckon tomorrow night is going to be fantastic. The details of the night are below, and I’d also be very grateful, naturally, if you’d think about voting for me — if you think my performances have been worthy, of course!

* * * * *

The Farrago New Year SLAM! & Farrago Zoo Awards Ceremony.
Thursday, 6th January, starts 7:30pm.

RADA Foyer Bar, Malet St, WC1. Goodge St tube.

Open to ANY poet SLAM! Any subject or style, read or perform. Every poet wins a prize!

+ The presentation ceremony for the annual Farrago Zoo Awards, voted for by the audience and supporters of Farrago Poetry.
+ Features including full sets from AF Harrold, Fran Landesman & Rachel Pantechnicon & short sets from fellow Farrago Zoo Award nominees including: Mab Jones, Vanessa Kissule, Mark Niel, Niall Spooner-Harvey & Others tbc.

Emcee: John Paul O’Neill. Tickets: £6/£5.

Information from John Paul O’Neill: 07905078376. farragopoetry@yahoo.co.uk. http://London.e-poets.net http://www.myspace.com/farragopoetry

* * * * *

The Farrago Zoo Awards for performances at events during 2010.

Listed below are the nominees for the Farrago Zoo Awards for performances in 2010, which was, thanks to your support, another brilliant year for us. We’ve continued to draw big audiences to the shows through the year and had some superb readings and performances by new and established poets and performers, making the selection process especially difficult in each of the eight categories.

The Farrago Zoo Awards are the UK’s longest running performance poetry awards, voted for by the supporters and audience of Farrago Poetry. Please choose your favourite performer in each category and email farragopoetry@yahoo.co.uk with ZOO in the subject line. The deadline for getting your vote in is noon on 6th January, the same day the winners will be announced at a special awards ceremony at the Farrago New Year SLAM!

1) Best Overall Performance/ Reading:
1 AF Harrold
2 Keith Jarrett
3 Sabrina Mahfouz
4 Rachel Pantechnicon
5 Gerry Potter
6 Niall Spooner-Harvey

2) Best SLAM! Performance:
1 Amy Acre
2 Harry Baker
3 Andrew Barber
4 Martin Daws
5 Charlie Dupre
6 Anna Freeman
7 Peter Hayhoe
8 Shavunda Horsley
9 Kit Lambert
10 Christopher Kracken
11 Amy McAlliser
12 Bridget Minamore
13 David Morgan
14 Gina Pisapia
15 Taniya Sonko

3) Best Performance by a London Poet:
1 Ray Antrobus
2 Rob Auton
3 Hamza Beg
4 Suli Breaks
5 Jasmine Cooray
6 The Bro’s Grim
7 Pierre Ringwald
8 Deanna Rodger
9 Dudley Sutton
10 Vanessa Walters

4) Best Farrago Debut Feature Performance:
1 Anna Chen
2 Paul Cree
3 Vanessa Kisuule
4 Richard Marsh
5 Sharnika Power
6 Clair Whitefield

5) Best Performance by a UK poet:
1 Harry Giles (Edinburgh)
2 Mab Jones (Cardiff)
3 Hollie McNish (Cambridge)
4 Mark Niel (Milton Keynes)
5 Bohdan Piasecki (Warwick)
6 Tina Sederholm (Oxford)

6) Best Performance by a performer using spoken word or music.~
1 Ian Keteku & Brad Morden
2 Fran Landesman
3 Sarah Moule & Simon Wallace
4 Rachel Rose Reid
5 Gemma Weekes
6 Zorras

7) Best Performance by a performer working in English and another language(s):
1 MT Ali
2 Ascen Arriazu
3 Sophia Buchuck~
4 Carlos Reyes Manzo
5 Isabel del Rio
6 Yamilka Noa

8) Best Performance by an International poet:
1 Penny Ashton (New Zealand)
2 Andreattah Chuma (Botswana)
3 Amy Lee Cutler (USA)
4 Ian Keteku (Canada)
5 Yuyutsu Sharma (Nepal)
6 Afua Wilcox (Swaziland)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s